Curtis and Dewey – Flying Bears !

 

Curtis Bear (the big one) and Dewey (the small one).

Curtis Bear (the big one) and Dewey (the small one).

I had heard about a new Museum that had opened between Cheltenham and Gloucester (close to where we live) called The JetAge Museum.  It tells the story of the Jet Age and its connections with the Cold War.

I visited on Saturday morning, along with two of my furry friends, Curtis Bear and Dewey Bear, both of them Flying Teddy bears.

Curtis Bear is a rather large bear and made by Steiff (originally named Teddy Boy, but his name got changed by me when he came to live here) and Dewey, who is also a Steiff Teddy Bear, although much smaller.

I have a brother who thinks of nothing more than flying (just about anything) and so I thought it would be a great idea to bring in a flying bear (or two) who could possibly share some of his adventures and I was not wrong.

Curtis Bear has met (and been signed on his paw pad) by the Forces Sweetheart, Vera Lyn and also by the last living pilot of The Dambusters Squadron, Les Munro and Bomb Aimer, Johnny Johnson. So you see, I had to take him with me on Saturday and where Curtis Bear is, Dewey is not far behind. Dewey Dumont was a famous ace Mustang pilot of WW2.

We arrived at the Museum at 10.00 a.m. on Saturday morning, when the doors opened, and already the car park was almost full.

The staff there are all volunteers and are exceptionally knowledgeable.  They will answer as many questions on jet aircraft as you can think of.  By the way, they immediately fell in love with my two friends, especially Curtis Bear.

They have a wall with bricks that can be bought (all in a good cause) and carry a name, company, etc.  I ordered one with the name CURTIS BEAR on so he will be in the Museum forever.

Curtis & Dewey Bear learn about the Jet Age

Curtis & Dewey Bear learn about the Jet Age

Leave a comment